2018 Scientific Advisory Board Members

Praespero’s Scientific Advisory Board refers research proposals, and makes funding recommendations to the Board of Directors.  They also provide strategic advice and provide support on program development.

Cheroutre-Hilde Headshot.png

Hilde Cheroutre, Ph.D.

Dr. Cheroutre is on the cutting edge of research. She wants to understand the immune system at a fundamental level and is continuously exploring new and unique ways to examine the organization and function of the immune system, and to identify the underlying causes of immune-related diseases, like autoimmunity. Her work is centered around one goal: to discover the truth.

Pere's photos 002.jpg

Pere Santamaria, M.D., Ph.D.

Dr. Santamaria’s work has focused on immunogenetics and immunopathogenesis of autoimmune disorders. His work has led to the discovery of a new therapeutic platform based on nanomedicine. This therapeutic approach can suppress the progression of various spontaneous and experimental autoimmune disorders in mice without compromising systemic immunity.

JJG (1).jpg

Jörg J. Goronzy, M.D., Ph.D.

Dr. Goronzy is a Professor of Medicine at Stanford University School of Medicine. Before coming to Stanford, he held position as the Mason I. Lowance, M.D. Professor of Medicine, Chief of the Division of Rheumatology and Director of the Kathleen B. and Mason I. Lowance Center for Human Immunology at Emory University, Atlanta, GA and as Professor of Medicine and Immunology at the Mayo Medical and Graduate School, Rochester, MN. He is an internationally recognized expert in human immunology and has published more than 350 manuscripts, mostly on rheumatoid arthritis and other autoimmune diseases and on human immune aging. He is a practising rheumatologist and dedicated to teaching the next generation of scientists and clinicians.

Adam Buntzman Head Shot.jpg

Adam Buntzman, Ph.D.

Rainbow Icon.jpg

Cornelia Weyand, M.D., Ph.D.

Rainbow Icon 2 (1).jpg

Dean Tantin, PhD

Rainbow Icon 2 (1).jpg

Juan Carlos