Innovation Award Framework

Innovation Awards are by invitation only.

We support innovative, boundary-pushing research, that advances our vision of ending autoimmune disease worldwide.

The Innovation Award Program provides $100,000 CAD awards for research projects.  Recipients who demonstrate significant progress may receive additional year(s) of support.

Through Innovation Awards, we embrace unconventional opportunities.  The result could be a breakthrough finding for the field

2018 Innovation Award Recipients

Dean Tantin, PhD, for his research on the genetic and pharmacological targeting of OCA-B in autoimmunity.

Juan Carlos Zúñiga-Pflücker, PhD, for his research on generation of tissue-specific regulatory T Cells for adoptive immune tolerance.


Fotini Gounari, PhD, and Khashayarsha Khazaie, PhD for their collaborative research on the mechanistic insight into de-regulation of inflammation and immunity by Tregs and microbiota.